Posted by: mamamamahoney | October 20, 2009

Homemade Dumplings

Tonight, I took a stab at making homemade dumplings.  I’m getting a little tired of cooking and eating the same thing all of the time.  These were a complete experiment – with no recipe – and turned out quite tasty!

Firstly, I opted to cook my filling fully in the frying pan before assembling the dumplings.  You can do this or you can put the filling in raw, however, it will need extra time in the water/soup in order to cook the raw meat/veggies.  I put about 3 tablespoons of oil in a pan and added finely chopped mushrooms, carrots, chicken breast, asparagus, onions & peppers.  I seasoned to taste with salt, pepper, onion powder and curry powder.  I also added one egg for a bit of binder since I wasn’t using a ground meat.  You can choose to season this however you’d like.  And you can add whatever veggies/meat you like.

Dumpling Filling

Dumpling Filling

 Then, I placed a small amount of filling onto a wonton wrapper that has been brushed with egg whites.  I folded them in half and sealed by pressing the edges all the way around.  The egg white will hold the wrappers closed.  Then, I dropped them into boiling soup (I made mine from a chicken flavored bouillon cube) and cooked them for about 3 minutes.  Remove with a flat, slotted spoon as to not rip open dumplings (wonton wrappers are fragile).

Homemade Dumplings

Homemade Dumplings

I served these with fresh broccoli for the hubby and me and right in the soup for the kids.

Leave a Reply

Categories

