Posted by: mamamamahoney | September 17, 2009

Banana Cookies

Today, after our flu shots, the weather looked kind of iffy, so we decided to make some banana cookies with our rather ripe bananas sitting on the counter.  Back in the day, before my boys, I used to cook and specifically bake a lot.  I loved trying new recipes.  Now, not so much.  I want a good, simple recipe that will allow my kids to help.  Some time ago, I purchased a book called Cake Mix Cookies by Camilla V. Saulsbury and it has become my cookie baking bible.  This is my go-to book when I need to bake cookies because 1) everything starts with a cake mix and 2) everything I’ve made from this book so far has been awesome!

Cake Mix Cookies by Camilla V. Saulsbury

Cake Mix Cookies by Camilla V. Saulsbury

The recipe begins with 1 medium, ripe banana that you need to mash.  Oh man did my kids have fun with this!

Mash That Banana!

Mash That Banana!

 

More Banana Mashing!

More Banana Mashing!

 You then add 1 large egg and 2 tablespoons of oil (we used canola).

Adding the oil

Adding the oil

Then, you add the cake mix.  The recipe calls for an 18.25 package of yellow cake mix.  I didn’t have yellow cake mix, so I used a carrot cake mix.  Our cookies came out like a banana spice cookie.  YUM!  And my kids didn’t even know they were eating a vegetable, too!  Sneaky Mommy!

Add the cake mix

Add the cake mix

Camilla’s recipe also includes 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and an optional cup of chopped nuts.  I really dislike the taste of nutmeg and I’m allergic to most nuts, so I opted to leave these out.  The recipe turned out fine without them.

Stir the batter

Stir the batter

 Stir everthing until all of the ingredients are moistened.  The batter will be sticky.

Drop by teaspoonfuls

Drop by teaspoonfuls

Drop by teaspoonfuls onto either a parchment covered or nonstick sprayed cookie sheet 2 inches apart.
Bake for 10-13 mins at 350 degrees

Bake for 10-13 mins at 350 degrees

Bake for 10-13 minutes at 350 degrees until set at edges and just barely set at center when lightly touched (ours took 11 minutes).

The Cookies Are Ready!

The Cookies Are Ready!

Cool the cookies 1 minute on the sheet and then transfer to wire racks.

Cool and Transfer

Cool and Transfer

Enjoy Your Cookies!

Enjoy Your Cookies!

Mamamamahoney can not be responsible for mess made by children while they wait for cookies!

Mamamamahoney can not be responsible for mess made by children while they wait for cookies!

 

Responses

  1. How bout you ship some of those banana cookies to PA? 😉 They sound delicious!

    And those photos are priceless! Seriously. I love that you do fun stuff with the boys and take photos of them doing it. Those are going to be fantastic when they are older. And not just for blackmail. Heehee!


Leave a Reply

Categories

