Posted by: mamamamahoney | September 10, 2009

Banana Bell Pepper Jelly Recipe

This is the Banana Bell Pepper Jelly Recipe I used (see previous post on jelly).  The jelly came out GREAT.  We tried it on crackers and it was fabulous – sweet with a little zing.  I think it would taste even more amazing with a nice cream cheese or over a block of cheese.  I did make a few small changes which I have noted.  Given the number of peppers I have, I could probably make another 25 batches of this jelly.  If you know me personally, guess what you are getting for Xmas??? <wink wink>

MRS. SMITH’S BANANA PEPPER JELLY

6 large sweet banana peppers* [I used all banana bell and sweet paprika peppers – about 2 cups chopped]

2 large hot banana peppers* [I did not use any hot peppers!]

* (Be sure to get 1-2 red or orange peppers in the batch, this will give the
jelly a beautiful blush shade.)  [We used a mix of yellow, red and blush peppers and the shade is a beautiful orange red]

1 ½ cups apple cider vinegar

5 cups sugar [I used only 4 cups and this is plenty sweet]

1 package Certo (1/2 box)

[I also added a 1/2 of a tablespoon of crushed red pepper per the recipe in the certo box to give it some zing since I did not use any hot peppers]

  1.. Sterilize 6 pint jars. [there is no way this recipe can give off 6 pint jars.  I got  2 3/4 jars.  If you use 1/2 pint jars – the standard jelly jar size, you should get 6 jars.]
  2.. Cut the peppers in half and remove the seeds and the veins. Chop into
large chunks.
  3.. Put all of the peppers and ¾ cup vinegar in the blender and blend
until it is finely chopped (still with some small chunks in it, not pureed).
  4.. Pour the pepper-vinegar mixture into a pot and bring to a boil. Cook
for 2-3 minutes until it starts to look smooth.
  5.. Add the remaining ¾ cup vinegar and all of the sugar. Stir and bring
it to a rolling boil for 1 minute. [add in the crushed red pepper at this point]
  6.. Add 1 package certo, bring back to a rolling boil for 1 minute.
  7.. Remove from heat, skim off any foam and allow the mixture to sit for 5
minutes.
  8.. Fill and seal canning jars according to manufacturer’s directions.

Responses

  1. Hey, Thank you so much for your recipe post. Like your previous post, my recipe said 6-7 pints and I yielded almost 3. I took to the internet to see what was wrong and found your article. Having an abundance of peppers coming out my ears; 🙂 I was very happy to see your recipe and just got done trying it. Looks amazing. I am sure it will be great; and like you I am going to add some other things like artisan cheese and crackers and peach butter etc for a christmas basket for everyone. Lol
    Thank you!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

