Posted by: mamamamahoney | August 11, 2009

Early August Harvest – CORN!

Early August Garden Harvest

Early August Garden Harvest

Tonight after my WW meeting, I headed out to the garden because it was plentiful with vegetables.  I picked our first corn of the season and in a complete turn around from previous years, this year’s corn is ripening at different paces.  So, we were able to harvest 9 pieces tonight and perhaps next week, there will be another 9 or so – this all from 4 corn plants.  That was a nice surprise because usually there is one corn harvest and then it is all done.  We also picked our first batch of tomatoes.  I don’t know how plentiful the tomatoes will be this year.  There has been so much rain which has been great for the plants, but horrible for my soil.  I just can’t seem to keep any of my stakes up.  The soil is so moist that the weight of the plants continues to drag down my stakes.  I’m trying to keep a watchful eye on the plants to keep any tomatoes from rotting as they hang low or on the ground.  We also picked some more banana bell peppers, paprika peppers and 2 cucumbers.
The Great Pumpkin

The Great Pumpkin

Is that the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown???  I transplanted this pumpkin plant from my front yard to the garden.  I suspect this little treat was due to the local squirrel population.  I wasn’t sure this little guy was going to make it at first as he didn’t have strong roots.  However, he hung in there and now looks fabulous.  There are several blossoms and about 4 or 5 small pumpkins growing already.  The above is the largest of the pack.  I’m very excited about this.  2 years ago, we got about 30 pumpkins from 2 plants.  Last year, we had 6 pumpkin plants and only got about 8 pumpkins.  Frankly, I’d just be happy with pumpkins for the front steps at Halloween, but it sure would be nice to share this bounty from the garden, too!

Responses

  1. Yum! Good work!

  2. You’re pumpkin looks like my watermelon. LOL! Which, by the way, are doing fabulous!

    Your garden is going great! Very jealous of all your yummy veggies. 🙂 Enjoy!

    • I posted that one JUST FOR YOU!!!

      • LOL! We are very excited for our watermelons. We check them everyday. This is what happens when you’ve never grown anything before. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

