Posted by: mamamamahoney | August 6, 2009

Cheap Summer Water Fun

Water Table

Water Table

 It’s hot in NJ during the summer and my kids LOVE playing with and in the water.  I’m not a beach person due to my instant lobster fair skin and we don’t belong to a pool, primarily because our town doesn’t have one and the waiting list for the one in the next town over is a mile long.  Needless to say, I’m always on the look out for cheap, summer water fun.

We bought this Step 2 WaterWheel Play Table last year.  I believe we paid $29.99 for ours at Toys R Us.   The Step2 website has it listed for $34.99.  The boys love this.  They use the water to fill up their water guns (super cheap water fun – you can find these at most dollar stores).  They also use it to fill up their watering cans for the garden (repurposing water as to not waste it!).  The table comes with 2 boats and the water wheel.  The Destroyer loves playing with the water wheel.  We also bring out some of our squirt toys for this.  And when all else fails, they just toss water back and forth at each other.
Slip 'N Slide

Slip 'N Slide

Last summer, I also purchased this Backyardigans Slip ‘N Slide for $8.95 from the Lakeside Collection.  You just hook up your hose to this and WA-LA – instant, CHEAP summer fun!  My boys could run on this all day long.   Best $8.95 I’ve spent all summer!

If you can’t find these now that they’ve already got the fall and Halloween stuff out (GASP!), you can always just turn on your sprinkler.  I haven’t found a kid that doesn’t just love running through a sprinkler – especially when they are fully clothed!!!

Wishing you lots of wet, refreshing summer fun!

Responses

  1. OK, that looks like so much fun! I never had a slip and slide when I was a kid. I miss out…


Leave a Reply

Categories

