Posted by: mamamamahoney | July 17, 2009

The Non-Talker

I am at a crossroads with the Destroyer.  He much like his brother did at this age is not really talking at 19 months.  He says a few things like Mama, Dada, Elmo and DAT (for THAT), but little else.  His temper tantrums, which clearly are related to his lack of communication skills, are getting out of hand.  He seems fine in all other aspects – he runs, climbs, rumbles with his brother.  He understands when you tell him to do something in both German and English.  He points.  He just doesn’t talk.  This week, I decided to call Early Intervention.  I never did it with CheezWaster and eventually, just before his 2nd birthday, he started chatting away.  Our doctor has already given us the “he’s got until he’s 2” speech at the The Destroyer’s last appointment.  I’m a bit nervous about Early Intervention.  On one hand, if The Destroyer does need some sort of therapy, I want him to get started right away.  However, on the other hand, I’m a little nervous about what kind of diagnosis I’m going to hear.  At this point, I’m chalking it up to his little brain working over time trying to learn both German and English and the fact that his big brother is more than willing to do all the talking for him.  I’m hoping that Murphy’s Law will take over and The Destroyer will explode into speech right before we have our meeting with Early Intervention.

Responses

  1. I’ve heard that twins sometimes have that issue. One twin is more dominant and speaks for the other one. The twin who doesn’t talk, can, just chooses not. Maybe that’s part of it? I sure hope so!

  2. My sister as you know has three and each spoke progressively later than the previous because they could depend on the older child to translate toddler to English. Made my sister crazy too.

  3. Don’t worry about it, when they come, see what they say. If they recommend anything, it is still your choice to proceed. And maybe he is like baby girl and will talk (or in her case walk) the day before they came. LOL

  4. Actually the best time for kids to learn two languages at once is when they are this young. Here is a link to an article I just read yesterday.

    http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Unraveling-how-children-apf-2395944604.html?x=0&.v=1


Leave a Reply

Categories

