Posted by: mamamamahoney | April 16, 2009

I’m a Medicinal Sped

I have bronchitis.  I used to get it once every winter in my teen and college years and then I was fine for a few years until the kids came along (I really can blame them for everything).  Now, I’m back to the at least once a winter bronchial episodes.  To make matters worse, I have much difficulty with medicines.  I’m allergic to 2 of the largest antibiotic groups (penicillins and tetracyclines) (Hey kids – if you eventually read this, here is another way to get mommy in her sleep!) and pretty much everything else kicks my ass 6 ways of Sunday.  I either get violently nauseous or I’m completely comatosed from medicines.  My latest love-hate relationship is with C-Phen.  My doctor gave it to me last time I was having bronchial issues and it gave me wicked heartburn (ala the pregnancy days).  This time, I told him I didn’t want it and he told me to get Mucinex DM.  Well – their little phlegm monster commercials may be cute, but their medicine SUCKS THE BIG ONE.  It has been a full week of antibiotics and Mucinex DM and I still feel like ass and am still coughing my head off to the point where I feel like I’m going to pass out many times during the day.  I finally succumbed and went back to the old stash of C-Phen.  I have heartburn, but at least I’m not coughing until I pass out anymore.  It is kind of like when I was a kid and something hurt and my dad would tell me that he would punch something else and then whatever was hurting wouldn’t hurt so much.  Thanks for that valuable lesson, Dad.  Little did I know it would be so useful in life.

Responses

  1. Ugh. I have a cold right now and it SUCKS! I so understand where you’re coming from. I keep coughing my head off. Ugh.

    Your dad was right though. It’s been scientifically proven that if you’re in pain and get injured in another place, you stop feeling the first pain. 🙂 I read that in Intro to Psychology. LOL! Gotta love that Etown education!


Leave a Reply

Categories

