Posted by: mamamamahoney | March 17, 2009

Dora the Whora

Why does every girl’s toy have to look like a little slut?  Have you seen what they want to do to Dora?  No?  Then click here.  This is supposed to be Tween Dora – because apparently emaciated Barbie and bitchy Brats don’t fill this void?!   This is one of the reasons I am so glad my kids are boys.  I mean, you never see a Star Wars figure turned into a gigolo (though Han Solo was pretty hot back in the day).  And last I looked there wasn’t a Pimp Transformer.  Diego – he’s our boy.  After all, how can you not want to be friends with a kid whose backpack can turn into a parasail or a kayak?  I remember being a little girl (it wasn’t THAT long ago) and my toys didn’t all look like whores.  I never saw a Tween version of Strawberry Shortcake.  In fact, she still looks pretty much the same as she did 25 years ago.  Dora the Tween Explorer – the only new thing she is going to be exploring is the World of Sex.

Responses

  1. Wow. This is really ridiculous.

    I guess I don’t really understand how a dress and leggings make somebody a whore.

    She looks nothing at all like a Barbie or a Bratz doll. She doesn’t even look like a TWEEN, she looks about eight.

    A lot of mothers dress their daughters this way.

    I think maybe it is time that people stop overreacting about stupid things like this and worry about something a little more important.

    • to each his own – this is merely one person’s opinion.

  2. I can’t believe your comment mamamamahoney.The new Dora looks pretty and yes, still innocent and I personally agree with anonymous’ comment. I dress in long tops and leggings and so do my daughters some times and I can tell you that being whoresome is not a pastime around here.
    Perhaps you should read your comments before you post them because you sound ridiculous.
    The new Dora looks like a nice young girl who, if she was real, I’d be happy for my daughters to be friends with. I’d even buy the toys!

    • Kath – While I appreciate your comments and your opinion – because everyone is entitled to their own – I found the old Dora to be a great role model. There was no fashion involved with her, no make-up, no forcing her to be “trendy” – all of which this “new” Dora embodies. There is way too much pressure on young girls to look a certain way. That is why there are so many young girls with depression and eating disorders. So if you want to buy the new Dora toys and are happy with her new image, then that is fine. I’m just glad I have boys.

      • Dude really !u shouldent be worried about a toddler show hunn . D agree with anonimios


Leave a Reply

Categories

