Posted by: mamamamahoney | February 5, 2009

Thick Skin

For some reason I seem to be constantly surrounded by people who think it is OK to shit all over me and make derogatory, belittling comments.  I suppose the adult thing to do would be to remove myself from the situation or to remove these people from my life, but it always seems to be those that are closest to me in all aspects of my life: family, bosses, etc.  Do people no longer think before they speak?  Do they not realize that their comments hurt me?  Or do they just not care?  Or is that putting other people down makes them feel better?  Years ago I used to have a much thicker skin and would just brush it off and think screw ’em.  But these days, such comments seem to bother me more.  Perhaps it is because I’m more of an adult now (or so I’d like to think) and I think that these even older adults should know better.  Perhaps it is because I think to myself how I don’t want these people making equally derogatory comments to my kids.  Whatever the change, it is really starting to get my goat and piss me off.  I’ll sit back and be the bigger person for now, but soon, there just might be a verbal explosion! KA-BOOM!

Leave a Reply

Categories

