Posted by: mamamamahoney | January 27, 2009

What is up with Noggin’s Felt Obsession?

Generally, when I flip on the TV for the kids, we are watching Noggin.  I have previously expressed my love for Noggin and I think they have some nice educational programs for young kids.  But, their new obsession with felt is starting to piss me off.  CheezWaster loves to do the crafts they show in between the programs.  This abomination is the latest holiday craft for Valentine’s Day.  Now, 1) Noggin is a channel designed for preschoolers and this craft says ages 4-6.  When I was 6, I was in first grade, not preschool.  2) look at all of the pieces?  It would take me hours to cut all of this out before we could even start the craft and there goes CheezWaster using his beloved safety scissors (admittedly there are other character versions of this pillow with less pieces, but still!) 3) Noggin, can we explore the world of paper or beads or something that is not made from felt?  Felt is not fun. 4) Mom, do you really want one of these for Valentine’s Day? – OK, so you get my point now.  Thankfully, I have been able to distract CheezWaster with the Valentine’s Day suncatcher crafts we bought from Oriental Trading, as well as amassing all of the stuff we need to make ourValentine’s Day cookies and chocolates (CheezWaster loves frosting, sprinkles, candies and anything else that you can use to decorate a cookie). And while I’m on the topic of things that have pissed me off lately…..Pillsbury – where were these dough sheets (which you have cleverly and stealthily hidden in the right side bar) when I was desperate for them at Christmas?  At least you ponied them up for Valentine’s Day (and folks – I’m really not that lazy that I can’t make my own dough, but these are nice to have around the house for a quick or last-minute snowy or rainy day activity).

Leave a Reply

Categories

