Posted by: mamamamahoney | January 20, 2009

My Mommy Reads What?

Each month, my house is peppered with magazines.  There are the highbrow ones that come like National Geographic and Popular Mechanics – those go to my husband.  There are Highlights and Animal Baby – those go to the boys.  Then, there are mine.  I get Cooking Light – which I love, though I rarely have time to make their recipes anymore (they are just a little bit too lengthy for me these days).  And then there is the onslaught of Mommy Magazines.  I get Parents, Parenting, Family Fun and Wondertime.

  • Parents – This is a great overall magazine.  Lots of good information on kids of all ages – including a monthly age by age specific subject.  Includes some crafts and recipes.
  • Parenting – This is another good overall magazine, very similar to Parents.  Though, if I had to pick one of the 2, I’d still go with Parents.
  • Family Fun – This is the magazine that I wait for with bated breath.  It is chock full of fun things to do with the kids – recipes, crafts, ideas.  This is a stay at home mom’s (or part-time stay at home mom like me) dream.  Another thing I love about this magazine is their vacation spotlights.  They feature reasonably priced, kid friendly destinations that I frequently rip out and catalog in my folders (I’m all about the folders)  I often find myself doing things out of this magazine and in fact gifted it to 2 of my friends this past Christmas.
  • Wondertime – I just started getting this magazine courtesy of a free subscription from Amazon* – what a treat!  It is a good mix of parenting info, recipes, etc.  But, what stands out to me most are the witty writers.  I often find myself laughing out loud reading their articles (garnering weird looks from my fellow bus commuters).  I don’t know who they are, but they are funny as hell. (*I used to have a free subscription to Cookie from Amazon, but that was too hoity-toity for me – I’m not rich, nor do I live in a big city and I’m sure as hell not paying $170 for a polo shirt for my kids.  $170 can get me 2 seasons of very nice, durable, cute clothes for 2 kids at Target)

I generally read on the bus and often find some of the coolest things in these magazines in terms of toys, clothes and fun ideas.  They have become an invaluable resource to me and I feel very fortunate to know there are other moms out there going through the same stuff that I am and that we can all still laugh at each other.

Leave a Reply

Categories

