Posted by: mamamamahoney | December 31, 2008

Finally Some Gingerbread

Tonight I baked some gingerbread since my husband has been bugging me for 3 years now.  The last time I baked gingerbread, I believe I used every curse word in the English language as my kitchen was so warm from the oven that my dough was getting ridiculously soft within seconds (literally!) of removing it from the refrigerator.  3 years ago my dear husband purchased me for Christmas an aluminum rolling pin  and a chill pastry board.  I used them for the first time tonight and the results were fabulous.  The gingerbread rolled out easily and didn’t get soft at all.  Here is the recipe I used.  I used a Betty Crocker cake mix, though.  Since I made my first cake mix cookie, I swore I would never go back to scratch.  Every cake mix cookie I’ve ever made has been great – far better than most I used to bake from scratch (and I always thought those were pretty good!)  Tomorrow, the kids and some friends will be decorating the gingerbread men and stars I made and my husband will be blissfully enjoying some tiny gingerbread men in his lunch (hoping that it doesn’t take me another 3 years to make him gingerbread again!)

CheezWaster helps mix the dough

CheezWaster helps mix the dough

 

The Chill Board and Aluminum Rolling Pin (Doesn't that random scrap on the left look like a kangaroo???)

The Chill Board and Aluminum Rolling Pin (Doesn't that random scrap on the left look like a kangaroo???)

 

The Sleep Deprivator is already looking for a cookie to eat!

The Sleep Deprivator is already looking for a cookie to eat!

Leave a Reply

Categories

