Posted by: mamamamahoney | October 5, 2008

The Blacksmith

Right about now I am probably trying to drag my husband away from the Blacksmith in Williamsburg, Virginia.

I preface this with the fact that my husband loves to remind me what a band geek I was in high school and I would love to start out this story with, “This one time at band camp….”, but alas, you will just have to settle for a band related story.

Back in my high school years, our marching band (The Marching Farmers!) travelled each year for a large competition.  For 4 of the 6 years I was in the band, it was to Williamsburg.  There, the school system could provide us with educational, as well as entertainment (Busch Gardens) opportunities.  Williamsburg was cool the first time, but after you see the Cook, the Baker, and the Candlestick Maker (and of course the infamous Blacksmith), you’ve seen it.  They are still doing the same things they did 15 years ago (Oh man, am I that old???).  Yet, my husband is still enamored by the Blacksmith (among many other historical things in Williamsburg and elsewhere).  He could stand and watch that guy’s fire for hours.  So, after I visited all of the gift shops without him, I’ll go back and pick him up!

Leave a Reply

Categories

