Posted by: mamamamahoney | September 25, 2008

On the Move

As of yesterday, CheezWaster had not passed a bowel in  2.5 days – and began complaining of a stomach ache.  After speaking to his doctor, we both made the fair assumption that he was probably just constipated.  The doctor suggested getting some prune juice and suppositories.  After a not-so-fun experience with suppositories a few years back (ironically – mine were to stop the anal pyrotechnics), I decided on the prune juice and PediaLax dissolvable strips, which I happened to have on hand thanks to BzzAgent.  CheezWaster knows that anything that dissolves on your tongue is medicine and absolutely refused to willingly take the strip.  But, since he drinks like a fish, I just dissolved it in his prune juice.  After expecting a quick massive explosion, I waited and waited….through the whining and the crying and oh, did I mention the whining?  Nothing.  We had to leave a birthday party early.  He was a nightmare at family dinner last night.  But, today…today, he is in good spirits – because he finally took his massive dump…and I do mean massive!  Upon further review of the situation, I’m pretty sure that this is all stemming from his new Scooby Doo vitamins.  At his last appointment, the doctor told us we could begin taking over the counter vitamins.  The first time I gave him a whole one and he complained of a stomach ache the next day.  I made the assumption he had the stomach ache because he was only supposed to get half of a vitamin (Note to parents: read all vitamins before administering.  Note to vitamin makers: my son does not only want to eat Scooby’s ass (or head) – is it not possible to make a whole vitamin for toddlers???).  My mom gave him halfof a vitamin on Tuesday and we are back to the stomach aches.  Damn you Scooby!  I guess we are going to have to test out some other vitamins at this point.  I’m leery of the gummi ones because my son is a gummi candy fiend and I could just see him trying to scale the cabinets to get at the jar of gummi vitamins (and then me having to go the hospital AGAIN this year).  So – I’m either on the hunt for a new, chewable vitamin or we are going to renew the prescription vitamins from the doctor (and pick out the purple and red ones – for some reason orange vitamin = 7th circle of hell).  Either way, at least we are back on the move!

Responses

  1. Glad to hear he’s feeling better – when we were kids, my brother and I refused the purple ones (which I’m pretty sure are the exact same vitamins from the look and smell of them), so don’t feel too bad. We turned out okay 🙂

  2. glad he is feeling better 🙂

  3. […] I have a new title: Prune Juice Explosion Mommy (which I’m hoping is just in reference to this post and not something else!)  And I must tell you that many people search my blog about Boston Market […]

  4. […] I have a new title: Prune Juice Explosion Mommy (which I’m hoping is just in reference to this post and not something else!)  And I must tell you that many people search my blog about Boston Market […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

