Posted by: mamamamahoney | September 18, 2008

The Candida Diet

My previous post detailed my allergy story and I’m sad to say that I don’t think this story has an ending just yet.  For the past month or so I’ve been discovering small indications that either my allergy or my internal yeast overgrowth problems have returned.  Some of those indications include the creepy-crawley feeling on my skin, the raging of my psoriasis, my intensely itching ears, my mad sweet/sugar cravings (I’m like a fiend lately – far worse than normal), my inability to lose any weight – just to name a few.  Therefore, I’ve decided that it is back on the candida diet I go.  As much as I abhor the idea of drastically restricting my foods again, I believe it will be the lesser of 2 evils.  If you are not familiar with the candida diet, it is a diet that reduces the candida albicans yeast in the body that becomes excessive in some people with food allergies, blood sugar issues, hormonal imbalances, etc. (all of which I believe I have or have had in the past)

The anti-candida diet cuts out foods that could potentially feed the yeast or encourage it to grow.  On the diet, you are not allowed to eat:

  • any type of sugar (cane, high fructose corn syrup, brown sugar, maple syrup, honey, brown rice syrup, etc.–plus fruits, fresh and dried);
  • simple carbohydrates – flours, pasta, bread, muffins, cakes, cookies, pies, tarts, biscuits, crackers, cornstarch and similar starches, and any other baked goods of any kind; candies, chocolate, ice cream, pudding, anything candy-like; white potatoes, white rice and any other white grains – you know…anything that tastes good.
  • foods that contain mold or fungus or encourage it to grow – mushrooms, peanuts, cashews, melons, cheeses
  • the most common allergens or foods that could cause allergic responses (which trigger the yeast): dairy, eggs, shellfish, peanuts, tree nuts, and soy foods (the demon soy!)
  • foods that are fermented or might encourage fermentation –  alcohol, vinegars, all condiments, soy sauce (the demon soy!)
  • anything artificial, processed, containing chemicals or additives, imitation or artificial seasonings and flavorings and colorings
  • soda, fruit juice, presweetened drinks, coffee, tea
  • nothing with yeast as an ingredient

Basically, you can’t eat anything that tastes good.  I assure you – I’ve done this diet before.  Here is the very short list of what you can actually eat:

  • all vegetables except the very starchy ones (such as white potatoes, corn, etc.)
  • whole, gluten-free grains (brown rice, quinoa, millet, amaranth, teff, etc.)
  • beans and legumes
  • some nuts and most seeds
  • water
  • natural, cold-pressed oils (especially olive oil)
  • a bit of lemon juice
  • stevia (a natural herbal sweetener that doesn’t affect blood sugar levels)

I, personally, like to refer to this as the starvation diet because after looking at what you can actually eat, I usually decide there is nothing that I really want anyway.  The last time I did this, I lost 40 pounds inside of about 3 months – something my fat ass could definitely use about now.

Eating at home, this diet is no problem.  Going out – it is a nightmare.  Looks like I’m back to brown-bagging it!

Food list minorly edited from this blog.

Responses

  1. Nicole,

    I feel the same way you do about doctors. . . they’ve never really been able to figure out what’s wrong with me, either. Seeing a naturopath is what helped me the most.

    Good luck with the diet–I can attest, it is no picnic (and this last time round, I only lasted 2 weeks!). But it does help, so it’s worth it if you’re really feeling crappy. Hope your symptoms clear up fast!

    Ricki

    PS Your boys (well, the 2 pictured here, anyway) are adorable 🙂

  2. If you’re still on/considering the Diet, coconut oil is all the new rage, in addition to olive oil … and it *tastes good!*

  3. Hi there! It sounds like we BOTH have some similar symptoms of candida.
    I am starting a new blog about this myself and would love to keep connected with you.

    One thing I noticed about your allowed diet list is the inclusion of certain grains and beans. From what I have read (and experienced myself) these items should not be included in a diet to fight candida. But you can have plenty of meats, eggs, vegetables………. there are so MANY delicious are creative things you can do with the “allowed” foods.
    I am in the misdst of posting some recipes (with pictures) now.
    I have a few posted, but my story etc… is not finshed yet. But you are welcome to view few recipes I already have posted, if you like.
    http://curingcandidanaturally.wordpress.com/category/recipes/
    much, much more to come…….
    good luck to you in your quest for wellness!
    Blessings,
    Carolyn
    p.s. I have been on a natural healing candida dit for a year now……. I am told natual healing takes a long time. One month for every year you have been sick…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

