Posted by: mamamamahoney | September 9, 2008

Psalmtimes we’re even funny!

Last night, I had the privilege to begin rehearsals with The Psalmtime Singers, my a cappella quartet for our annual Coffeehouse (that benefits our church).  As a part-time working mom of 2, I don’t get out much these days on a social basis.  Last night was some of the most fun I’ve had (sans the kids) in a long time – and all we were doing was testing out some new songs (it doesn’t take much to excite me these days!).  2 songs we were testing out were a hilarious “One Minute Madrigal” and the “Mother Goose Madrigal”  You’d be amazed at the conversation that came out of the Mother Goose Madrigal.  Who knew that simple Nursery Rhymes could elicit so many laughs from 4 adults?!  The Ba Ba Black Sheep song was particularly humorous – there was 1) Holy Sheep! (in reference to the accidentals in the bass line) which then continued on into 2) Oh Sheep!  Not to mention that the majority of us were completely shocked to see that the words we had been singing to Pop Goes the Weasel since childhood were wrong. (Money vs. Monkey – “that’s the way the money goes”).  Upon further internet searching I found that there are several versions of lyrics to Pop Goes the Weasel – I’m a mulberry bush girl myself!  What I found funniest last night, stemmed from a conversation on pronunciation of certain words.  I’m not sure if this is a real story or a joke that I’d never heard before.  It is funny, albeit a bit lame, nonetheless.  Here goes:

2 people are in a restaurant in Lancaster, Pennsylvania arguing over how the town’s name is pronounced.  Is it Lan(d)caster or Lan(g)caster?  They decide to ask a waitstaff person to please tell them where they are and say is slowly and clearly so they can hear the proper pronunciation.  She says, “B-U-R-G-E-R   K-I-N-G”. 

Go ahead and laugh.  You know you want to!

Leave a Reply

Categories

