Posted by: mamamamahoney | September 2, 2008

Palin and the Public Opinion

I am a mother.  I am a Christian – Presbyterian to be exact.  I am a Republican (though I will admit that I don’t like everything about the Republicans).  I have been in a situation where I thought I was going to have to make a decision to abort a baby (but thankfully did not have to).  I am appalled at the media – and not just today, but more today than I have been in a long time.  Let’s talk Sarah Palin – Yes, she is a mother of a down-syndrome baby.  Yes, she did her job while in the late stages of a high risk pregnancy.  Yes, she went back to work right after her special needs infant was born.  Why does this make her any different than any other high-power, career woman?  I work in a law firm.  Many of the women work long, exhausting hours during their pregnancies.   Many of them work during their maternity “leave”.  I would even venture to say that many of them work right up to going into the delivery room.  Should only she come under scrutiny because she is up for the candidacy of Vice President?  Frankly, I think this makes her look even more qualified for the job.  She is a workaholic – and don’t we want someone who is going to bust their hump as the VP of our great nation?  I hate that politics is so demeaning.  No one is perfect.  Everyone has flaws and skeletons that are revealed under scrutiny.  Let’s talk Palin’s daughter – yes, she is 17.  Yes, she is pregnant.  What the hell does this have to do with Palin’s ability to be Vice President?  Any why should anyone care?  Does this make Palin a shitty parent?  I don’t think so.  Have you seen America’s teens these days?  They are a world of difference from my teen years (and that wasn’t that long ago!).  Today’s teens are much more sexually aware and nothing their parents say or do, short of holding them in captivity is going to stop them from getting it on.  Do you see what is on TV these days?  Look at Gossip Girl?  That is pure smut thrown right in the faces of the average American teenager.  At least, she is taking responsibility for her actions and having the baby and getting married.  As a Christian and a Republican, I am NOT anti-abortion.  My personal belief is that the person needs to do what is best for them and the (potential) child – and if that means not bringing it into this world, then so be it.  I hate seeing this crap sprawled across every type of media.  It has nothing – absolutely nothing – to do with Palin’s ability to govern.  Wake up, people.  There are bigger issues out there.  And if this is all you can focus on, I pray that you are not the people hitting the poles, because this nation is in a world of trouble if you are.

Hate mail always welcome!  :o)

Responses

  1. And here I thought I was the only one in the country who doesn’t care who is going watch Palin’s baby now that her husband is returning to work from paternity leave. For a government that gives so little assistance to a woman after she gives birth (or adopts) a child, whether she stays at home or returns to work, it seems a little ridiculous, no? I find Palin way too socially conservative for my personal taste, but in her defense, no one would care about these things if she was a man. Blergh.

  2. TOUCHE – I love your post. I completely agree that what Palin’s daughter’s personal decisions are has absolutely NO impact whatsoever on her ability to be VP of this country. She is an amazing individual and will do a wonderful job. I loved her speech last night, and while McCain already had my vote, well, I’m just more in love than ever w/the Republican party 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

