Posted by: mamamamahoney | August 7, 2008

Family Fights

In a few weeks, I’m having a BBQ  for my husband’s father’s side of the family.  They are quite a large bunch, but due to many, catty fights going on in the family, only see each other when someone dies or gets married.  And even then the gatherings aren’t always the most pleasant.  I was hesitant to do this BBQ again this year (we did one 2 years ago when CheezWaster was 6 months old) knowing full well who would show up and who wouldn’t, but it was requested with overwhelming support by most at the last family wedding.  Today, I checked in on my Evite and low and behold the same people that still hold a grudge have yet to respond and will likely not come.  This infuriates me to no end and there is one HUGE reason why.  I had 2 brothers.  I now have 1.  My brother (younger of the 2 brothers, but still older than me) committed suicide 9 years ago.  No one saw it coming, though he had tried before.  There are so many things I wish I could say to my brother.  I wish I could see him again.  I wish he would tease me like he did when I was little.  I wish he could see his 2 beautiful nephews, who he would have loved with all of his heart.  But, I can’t.  These stupid, catty, family fights are dumb and people need to get over themselves.  I’m tired of seeing brothers fight over stupid shit.  There is no reason why you should not be able to be at a picnic with your brother.  My brother is dead and I’ll never see him again and I’ll never talk to him again.  Is something so stupid worth that?  Because you never know what tomorrow will bring!

Leave a Reply

Categories

