Posted by: mamamamahoney | August 1, 2008

I am…..

Inspired by Danny’s last 2 posts (because let’s be honest, in the world of blogging, I want to be him!), I have some things to say:

1) There are many things that I am.  There are many things I am not.  I can’t be everything to everyone (despite me trying).  I’ll continue to try (because I don’t want to hear any shit) but be prepared world, I’m destined to fail.

2) Why can’t people ride escalators properly?  In the past few weeks, it seems worse than ever.  Maybe this is just a New York City problem (but I suspect not!).  Maybe it is just a NYC Port Authority problem – but damn it people – just step onto the friggin escalator!  It is not going to attack you.  You don’t need to hesitate and wait for the perfect step.  They’re all the same! And when it is time to get off, just STEP OFF! (wow – I just had a 1992 flashback).  And for God’s sake, don’t stand right at the top and look around like you’ve never seen a bunch of people rushing to get home after a long day’s work.  My (very large) ass is coming swiftly up the escalator and I’m one those people rushing to get home.  And you will NOT stand in my way.

3)  If you are going to be out of the office and listing me as your contact, it might be nice to let me know that in advance. 

4) The Olympics are coming up.  I’m stoked.  I’m not really into sports, but I love the Summer Olympics, specifically gymnastics (especially now that trampolining is a sport!)  Yes, once upon a time I was a first place trampoliner (is that a word?), but sadly my knee crapped out and ended my dream (what a nice welcome reality gave me at the ripe old age of 11).  Once again, the Olympics are being broadcast on NBC, so I will leave you with this – NBC…you better not be assholes like you were on the last Summer Olympic opening ceremonies and not have anything better to say about the Germans other than mentioning the 1972 Munich Olympic incident.  Talk about bratwurst, talk about Mercedes or BMW or Porsche for that matter, talk about the almighty Oktoberfest.  But, for the love of God, please do not equate these athletes with anything related to the hatred of Jews.  They have worked so hard to get where they are today (not just the athletes, but the German nation as a whole) and deserve to be cheered on just like every other country.  As a German (first generation American born), I’m a little tired of always being thought of as nothing more than a Jew Hater.  The Japanese athletes were not referred to as “Chinese Killers”.  The horrors of Africa were not mentioned in relation to any of those countries.  Tell me mass media – Why must you always single out the Germans???

Leave a Reply

Categories

